Test Format and Points


You can take the Ielts exam in one of three ways: “Paper Based”, “Computer Based” or "Online".


The IELTS Exam consists of 4 sections: Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking. Excluding the speaking section, the total exam time is 2 hours and 45 minutes. Each section is scored between 1-9, in half points increments (ie 7.0-7.5). The overall score is an average of the 4 sections.

In IELTS, candidates take the exam using paper and pencil. The speaking part is done face to face by an expert IELTS interviewer.

Section Question Number Time
Listening ( 4 sections) 40 30 min
Reading ( 3 sections) 40 60 min
Writing ( 2 sections) - 60 min
Speaking ( 3 sections) - 11-14 min

Computer Based Test (IELTS)

The computer based test has some advantages for those taking the IELTS exam:

- Results are announced within 5-7 days.

- More test dates options

- More test locations

- More flexibility

You can take Academic and General IELTS exams using the computer-based test method. Reading, Listening and Writing parts are performed by keying with the keyboard. The speaking part is done as a face-to-face meeting with a trained examiner on the same day or on a different day. C

Computer-based IELTS exams are held only in Ankara, Istanbul, Izmir and Erzurum. The scoring is the same as the paper based test.

IELTS Scoring Explained:

IELTS Score of 9: Expert User. has complete control over English: suitable, accurate and fluent in speaking and full comprehension. Knowledge of English is almost native.

IELTS Score of 8: Very Good User. Has complete control over English, except for only unsystematic errors. There may be difficulties on matters that are not within their knowledge. Can be successful in difficult and complex discussions.

IELTS Score of 7: Good User. Has practical control over English, except for random errors, misuse and misunderstandings that may occur in some cases. Generally, he can be well versed in difficult and complex language and can make detailed reasoning.

IELTS Score of 6: Competent User. Although there are some mistakes, inappropriate uses and misunderstandings, he generally uses the language effectively. Can use very difficult level of English in non-foreign subjects.

IELTS Score of 5: Modest User (Intermediate User) Although he is susceptible to making mistakes, he can infer the general meaning in many cases and has partial command of the language. Can establish a simple communication on a subject he knows.

IELTS Score of 4: Limited User. Even in situations with Limited User Knowledge, English skills are limited. He often has problems understanding and expressing. Difficulty in complex situations.

IELTS Score of 3: Extremely Limited User. Can understand and express only the subjects he knows very well. He often has difficulty communicating.

IELTS Score of 2: Intermittent User. It is not possible to communicate in real life, except to express the simplest information in certain words, use short formulas on familiar topics and state immediate needs. Has difficulty understanding spoken and written English.

IELTS Score of 1: Non User (User without English knowledge) No ability to use the language except a few words.

Let us call you